Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, and the associated delays and cancellations of events during the past year, we are combining the nominees for the 2020 and 2021 calendar years and awarding two winners in each category. We are honored to celebrate 36 years of recognizing the arts and culture in Virginia’s Blue Ridge.

We are pleased to announce the nominees for the 2020 and 2021 Perry F. Kendig Awards:

Artemis Journal
Jason and Shelby Bingham
Bryan Hancock
Kerry Hurley
Robert Nordt Sr.
Todd Ristau
Roanoke College Olin Hall Galleries
Roanoke Valley Children’s Choir
David Scaer
Don and Barbara Smith (posthumous)
Smith Mountain Arts Council
Third Street Coffee House
Pat Wilhelms
Dwayne Yancey


Congratulations to the 2019 Perry F. Kendig Award winners Susan Jennings, Jimmy Ray Ward, and The Studio School (read the news release here). A complete list of nominees for 2019 can be found here: nominations news release.

Photos from the September 24 award ceremony can be viewed here: Kendig Award Celebration Photos 2019

Hollins University and Roanoke College are dedicated to providing students with the finest arts and cultural learning experiences. From artist residencies, gallery programs, live theatre productions, music concerts, creative writing activities, and film projects, students are exposed to amazing faculty and professional artists of all disciplines.

To enhance learning and build upon these unique campus offerings, both Hollins and Roanoke have actively sought ways for students to experience the rich and vibrant Roanoke region* arts and cultural community. At any time throughout their experiences at Hollins and Roanoke, students might find themselves working alongside a local visual artist in their studio or in the community, performing in a local theatrical production or learning about arts administration during an internship at a non-profit organization.

In 2013 The Perry F. Kendig Awards, an annual program that has recognized excellence in arts and culture for more than 25 years, found itself without a home, Hollins University and Roanoke College came together to keep the tradition alive in appreciation to the Roanoke region’s cultural community resources. In addition, Hollins University and Roanoke College hope that in presenting this annual program it will build an even stronger arts and culture bridge between the campus environment and community at large.

Award Categories

One award will be presented in each category only (for a total of three (3) awards).

  • Individual Artist (of all disciplines – dance, literature, music, media arts, visual arts and theatre)
  • Arts and/or Cultural Organization
  • Individual or Business Arts Supporter

*Nominees must be a resident of the Roanoke region.

Please see the FAQ section for more information on the nomination process.

*Roanoke Regional Chamber defines the Roanoke region as the counties of Botetourt, Franklin, and Roanoke, and the cities of Salem, Roanoke and the Town of Vinton.

Important Note

The Perry F. Kendig Arts and Culture Awards is a programmatic offering between Hollins University and Roanoke College since 2013. Past Perry F. Kendig Awards recipients from 1985-2012 are eligible for consideration – see complete lists:

Kendig Award Recipients from 1985-2012
Kendig Award Nominees Winners 2013 to present

Programs and full time employees of Hollins University and Roanoke College are now eligible to be nominated.